What’s considered Criminal Speeding in Maine?
Driving underneath the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime that carries stiff penalties in Maine. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be facing jail time, hefty fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license. Understanding the state’s maine dui laws will help make certain that you stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble. Listed here is an overview of things you need to know about oui lawyer near me.
Maine’s Legal Drinking Limit
In Maine, it’s illegal for drivers 21 years of age and over to use a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher. For drivers under 21 years of age, the legal drinking limit is a lot lower—just .02%. Drivers which can be found operating a car with either of those BAC levels is likely to be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Additionally, all drivers must submit to chemical tests if requested by police officers after being arrested for suspected drunk driving. Refusal to submit to such tests may result in additional penalties and fines.
Consequences for DUIs
The consequences for DUIs rely on whether it’s your first offense. For first-time offenders, they could face up to 364 days in jail and fines including $500-$2,000. Furthermore, their driver’s license may also be suspended for 90 days. For second-time offenders within 10 years of these first offense, they could face 5 years in prison and fines between $1,000-$4,000 in addition to having their license suspended for approximately 2 years. As it pertains to third-time offenders within 10 years of these previous convictions, they could face 10 years in prison with fines including $2,000-$5,000 while having their license suspended for 6 years.
Implied Consent Law
Under Maine’s implied consent law drivers are needed by law to submit to chemical tests when asked by police force officers following an arrest made on suspicion of drunk driving. Refusal to take such tests may result in additional penalties including increased punishment if convicted along with suspension of one’s driver’s license for 3 years even if he or she was found not guilty at trial because of lack of evidence obtained from chemical testing results.Furthermore, refusal can also be used against someone during trial if he or she refuses before being given Miranda warnings and again after being informed by police force officers concerning the implied consent law.
Understanding the DUI laws in Maine is vital so you can stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble in case you ever find yourself behind the wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs. The legal BAC limit is .08% or older for those 21 and over although it drops down significantly at just .02% for many who are younger than 21. Additionally, refusing chemical tests can result in additional penalties even if one isn’t guilty due to insufficient evidence obtained through testing results which supports explain why one must comply with such requests when asked by law enforcement officers following an arrest made under suspicion of drunk driving according to implied consent laws in this state. In regards time getting behind the wheel remember not just could it be illegal but it might cost you dearly too!Read More